Indonesian public holidays are set each year by Joint Ministerial Decree. The holiday dates are determined by various ministers, departments and decrees.

The concept of  ‘cuti bersama’ (joint holiday) has been introduced by the Indonesian Government with the aim to promote domestic tourism. Joint holidays are provided to prolong holiday weekends (usually given on a Monday or Friday). Thus, if a public holiday falls on a Thursday, the ‘joint holiday’ program encourages the employer to give Friday off so that there is a four-day weekend.

According to Article 85 of ‘Act 13 of 2003 Indonesian Manpower/Labour Law’, workers are not obliged to work on public holidays. However, if work is required to be done on public holidays, employers are subject to pay overtime payments to the workers.

Approximately 87 per cent of Indonesia’s population observe Islam as their religion. Hence, Islamic religious holidays like Hari Raya Idul Fitri, Idul Adha, and the Birthday of the Prophet Muhammad are widely celebrated all across Indonesia.
Public Holidays 2017

UPDATE: President Joko Widodo established that Pancasila Day (1 June) will be a national holiday from 2017.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Sun New Years Day
28 Jan Sat Chinese New Year
28 Mar Tue Bali Hindu New Year
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
24 Apr Mon Ascension of the Prophet Muhammad
1 May Mon International Labor Day / May Day
11 May Thu Waisak Day
25 May Thu Ascension Day of Jesus Christ
1 Jun Thu Pancasila Day
23 Jun Fri Shared Public Holiday (Lebaran)
25 Jun Sun Hari Raya Idul Fitri
26 Jun Mon Hari Raya Idul Fitri
27 Jun Tue Shared Public Holiday (Lebaran)
28 Jun Wed Shared Public Holiday (Lebaran)
17 Aug Thu Indonesian Independence Day
1 Sep Fri Idul Adha
21 Sep Thu Islamic New Year
1 Dec Fri Birthday of the Prophet Muhammad
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
26 Dec Tue Shared Public Holiday (Christmas)

 

Honorary Consul of the Republic of Estonia
Special Capital District of Jakarta

Jl. Pinang Emas III/17, Pondok Indah
Jakarta 12310, INDONESIA
Phone. 0812 199 4488
Fax. 021-766 6060

Office hours: 08:00 a.m to 01:00 p.m
Appointment with Consul (H)

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

© CONSULATE ESTONIA JAKARTA 2018

Setting by GiansiMedia